Canadian Pugwash Group

CPG Archive, 1998-2014

The table below shows papers, correspondence, reports, and articles by or about Canadian Pugwash Group members. By default, articles are listed by the first author’s surname (or the name of the issuing organization, e.g. CPG).

This page will load 100 references at a time. Please click on the navigation link at the bottom of the page to continue further down the table. You can use the Search box to find an individual author or keyword.

Each title can be clicked to access the full article (or other resource). Most files are in pdf or doc/docx format, with a few in html or ppt/pptx.

Read more

About Canadian Pugwash Group

We are the national affiliate of the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs, an international organization, which had its birthplace in Pugwash, Nova Scotia in 1957 and which was awarded the 1995 Nobel Peace Prize together with its founder Sir Joseph Rotblat. The purpose of the Pugwash Conferences is to provide scholarly insights into the prevention and resolution of armed conflict, including nuclear and conventional disarmament, control of the arms trade, the peaceful settlement of disputes and to contribute to solutions for environmental threats to human security.

Education on global security, in a broad sense, is the mandate of the Canadian Pugwash Group, carried out by sponsoring conferences, roundtables and other events to foster informed discussion and to generate ideas and proposals relevant to the formulation of government policy. For example in recent years Canadian Pugwash has organized a conference on “Canada’s Contribution to Global Security” (July 2017) and one on “Towards a World Without Nuclear Weapons” (July 2015), both of which yielded a set of policy recommendations that were conveyed to the Government of Canada for consideration.

Canadian Pugwash Bylaws

On July 2, 2014, the Canadian Pugwash Group received a Certificate of Continuance under the Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations Act (NFP Act). The original incorporation of the organization was July 12, 1990. This followed a period of activity that dated as far back as the Pugwash foundation meeting in 1957.

Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs:

wwnwGroup08-16-2012The Russell-Einstein Manifesto of 1955 was a call to action in the campaign to prevent war and to realize nuclear disarmament. It was the inspiration behind the establishment in 1957 by the philanthropist Cyrus Eaton of the Pugwash Conferences and the gathering of scientists from East and West at his summer residence in the small seaside village of Pugwash, Nova Scotia (now the National Historic Site of “Thinkers Lodge”). Pugwash members continue to uphold the principles set out in the Russell-Einstein Manifesto.

Nobel Peace Prize

For more than sixty years the Pugwash Conferences on Science and World Affairs have been working for the control, reduction and eventual elimination of nuclear weapons. It was in recognition of these efforts that Pugwash, together with its President of the time, Joseph Rotblat, was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. In December 2017, Canadian Pugwash was honoured that one of its members, Setsuko Thurlow, a survivor of the Hiroshima atomic bombing, was selected to receive alongside the Executive Director of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) the Nobel Peace Prize for ICAN’s efforts to ensure the negotiation of a Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons.


Canadian Pugwash Group member Setsuko Thurlow accepts the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize on behalf of ICAN (jointly with executive director Beatrice Fihn, right).
The Canadian Pugwash Group has two categories of members: full members who are elected by the current Board of Directors on the basis of a nomination originating with one or more of the current members. New members have made significant contributions in their professional lives to advancing the goals of the Pugwash movement. A category of Associate Members is aimed at individuals at an earlier stage of their careers or those unable to participate on a regular basis with Canadian Pugwash activities, who nevertheless support the principles of the movement and who wish to engage with like-minded colleagues. Associate Members are appointed by the Chair upon consultation with the Board of Directors. All members have access to a dedicated listserv for the sharing of articles and other information relevant to Canadian Pugwash’s mission. Please feel free to contact the Chair or Vice-Chair for information about becoming associated with Canadian Pugwash.

Please use the menu to explore our website and to find out about current peace and security issues and initiatives involving Canadian Pugwash members.

Good News Service #53: November 2017

  1. Witness to History: Pope’s rejection of nukes a milestone, says ex-Senator Douglas Roche
  2. Can Canada make a meaningful return to UN Peacekeeping?
  3. Chris Hadfield continues his description of good news stories. Here are nine more of them
  4. The Danes head the World Happiness Report, twice! Sicilians, too, are happy for more sensual reasons
  5. For the birds: about Warblers, Hawks, Eagles and Ravens: perhaps they are smarter than we think!
  6. Say “Yes!”
  7. Using fun (part 1: cartoons)
  8. Using fun (part 2: circuses)
  9. Polio and Malaria Programming in Borno, Nigeria
  10. Climate Smart Agriculture

Download the full issue here (docx)

Contact CPG

Contact CPG by mail:

Canadian Pugwash Group
56 Douglas Drive
Toronto ON
M4W 2B3

To contact a CPG member by email, click on name.


Vancouver, BC

Ottawa, ON
Peter Venton
Toronto, ON
Past Chair
David Harries
Kingston, ON

Toronto, ON
Recording Secretary

Ottawa, ON

Toronto, ON

Edmonton, AB

Toronto, ON

Sackville, NB
Cesar Jaramillo
Waterloo, ON

Montréal, QC
Peggy Mason
Ottawa, ON
Director emeritus

Toronto, ON
Director emeritus

Ottawa, ON


Past Directors and Officers

Past Chairs

  • Prof. David Harries, Kingston, Ontario
  • Prof. Walter Dorn, Toronto, Ontario
  • Dr. Adele Buckley,Toronto, Ontario
  • Honourable Douglas Roche, O.C., Edmonton, Alberta [official website]
  • MGen (Ret) L.V. Johnson, L.L.D., Westport, [deceased]
  • Dr. William Epstein, Q.C., O.C., [deceased]
  • Prof. John C. Polanyi, P.C., C.C., Founding Chair

Past Officers

  • Prof. Walter Dorn, Toronto, Ontario
  • Dr. Adele Buckley,Toronto, Ontario
  • Prof. Sergei Plekhanov, Toronto, Ontario
  • Shane Roberts, Ottawa, Ontario

Past Directors

  • Dr. Theodora Carroll, Squamish, British Columbia
  • Phyllis Creighton, Toronto, Ontario
  • Bev Delong, Edmonton, Alberta
  • Prof. Terrell Gardner, Toronto, Ontario [deceased]
  • Ann Gertler, Montréal, Québec [deceased]
  • Dr. David Harries, Kingston, Ontario
  • Prof. Pierre Jasmin, Montréal, Québec
  • Alexa McDonough, O.C. , Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Prof. (em) Peter Meincke, Manotick, Ontario
  • Paul Meyer, Vancouver, British Columbia
  • Prof. (em) Derek Paul, Montréal, Québec
  • Ernie Regehr, O.C., Waterloo, Ont.
  • Prof (em) Elizabeth Riddell-Dixon, London, Ontario
  • Prof. Erika Simpson, London, Ontario
  • Prof. (em) Metta Spencer, Toronto, Ontario
  • Steve Staples, Ottawa, Ontario
  • Murray Thomson, O.C., Ottawa, Ontario
  • Peter Walker, Wolfville, Nova Scotia

Short biographies of CPG officers and directors can be found on this site.

The Canadian Pugwash membership list is accessible to Pugwash members.  Please contact .

Website Administrator